Serious Sally

Back when I was good about sending pictures of Sweetness in mass emails to friends and family, rarely were there any of her smiling.  A good friend dubbed her Serious Sally and the nickname has stuck.  Want to try to make her smile? Forget it. She will stare you down and bore holes through you.  We recently took a trip to city hall to run an errand and there was this really sweet grandmotherly type with bright red lipstick processing my paperwork.  Her voice was all high-pitched and sing-song trying to get Sweetness to smile and she couldn’t have given this woman the time of day.  This is the look she gave her:

serious sally

The grandmother tried even harder and Sally looked even more seriously at her.  No thanks, lady, you don’t impress me. She really does smile though, I assure you.  It’s just she makes you work for it.  Really hard.  Yet another thing I love about her.

In other news, I cut off all my hair.  I am so mad at myself.  I spent the last year growing out my hair only to do what?  Chop it off?  I promised myself that I wouldn’t be one of those moms that cuts off all her hair after she has a baby.  It only took 7 months to break that promise.  Jeez.  I realized when I came home from the salon that I have the same hairstyle I did last year at this time.  The more things change the more they stay the same.

Leave a Reply

