Eczema Update

So it’s been 14 days since I eliminated wheat, dairy, soy, nuts, eggs and fish from my diet to see if it would improve Sweetness’ eczema.  Here is part one if you missed it.  It hasn’t been as difficult as I first imagined.  I am learning all about baking my own wheat free breads with tapioca, teff and quinoa flours.  I even found a great recipe for blondies here that are quite tasty.  Did you know there are chocolate chips that are dairy and soy free? I don’t know about you but I can’t live without chocolate. As a result of all of this baking I think I’m the only person on the planet who has managed to gain weight during an elimination diet.  But now onto the more important stuff, Sweetness!  I think I will let the pictures speak for themselves.  The first one is her face during a flare up in January before the elimination diet:

8 days into the elimination diet:

12 days into the elimination diet:

The last one isn’t as close up as I’d like but it’s all I have at the moment.  None of these photos have been altered or touched up.  What do you think?  I am amazed at the difference in her skin.  AMAZED.  I cannot believe this is working.  I really can’t. As wonderful as it is, it also means that she is allergic or sensitive to one of the foods I have cut out of my diet.  I am going to wait another couple weeks and then slowly introduce one food at a time back into my diet to see which one(s) could be the culprit. I can’t help but wonder if what was in my breastmilk contributed to her fussiness as a newborn.  Sweetness cried for hours as an infant.  Sure it could have been the normal fussy period that is common in those early weeks so I guess I’ll never really know.  I could be imagining it but I swear she is happier and that makes me happy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 18:26:15

    I’m so happy that the elimination diet is helping!! Keep up the good work, mama! I know it’s not easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

