Hello, Me!

I am licensed in the field that I took a hiatus from and in order to keep that license (which I worked WAY too hard to give up) I need continuing education credits.  So yesterday I went to a fantastic workshop and had time away from Sweetness while my husband stayed home with her.  I rarely leave Sweetness so after my initial anxiety of “I can’t go, I will miss her!” it was kind of exciting.  I woke up and took a shower, actually styled my hair, put on nice clothes and even make-up!  My husband looked at me and said “wow, you look good”.  Thanks, I think?  I could feel the sense of sweet freedom starting to build as I put on my jacket and kissed her goodbye.

It was actually fun to be among the hustle and bustle of the morning commute and it immediately brought me back to my working out of the home days.  When my life was career driven and achievement focused.  Life before Sweetness.  Sometimes I forget I had one before her.  It is so easy to cast yourself aside when you have a baby.  Their needs are so paramount to yours that you get caught up in the everyday routine and forget about you. Suddenly you notice that you haven’t changed your sweatpants or taken a moment for yourself in 3 days (or at least that is what happens to me).

I am beginning to realized how important it is for me to take time for myself.  It helps to recharge my batteries and I think it makes me a better mother.  Even sitting in a library (I love libraries) or in a bookstore for an hour and enjoying a hot cup of tea can be good for my soul.  I find that when I come home after being away from Sweetness I have a huge smile on my face when I walk up the stairs toward the door knowing I’m going to see her and give her a big hug.  So I’m going to make the effort to reconnect with myself.  True, I won’t ever be that same person before I had Sweetness but I will have fun rediscovering who I am and doing things that make my soul happy.  Like……….   🙂

Leave a Reply

