Amazing Grace

I had an entire draft ready to go about how hard motherhood is and how I am so tired all the time, blah, blah, blah….and today when Sweetness and I were out shopping I saw a mother – a complete stranger who gave me a reality check.

I was pulling out of a parking lot and across the street I noticed a woman with 3 young children.  She caught my eye because she was carrying an infant around Sweetness’ age on her back  like this in addition to holding her toddler’s hand while simultaneously carrying a large square package on her head. Her school aged boy was leading the way a few steps ahead and all I could think was that woman is amazing. All of the negativity and exhaustion I had been feeling melted away as I sat in awe of this mother.  I silently chided myself for the way I groaned endlessly to my friend the previous day about the challenges of motherhood.  The mother in front of me was a reminder of the strength and power of women.

I continued to watch her while I drove out of the parking lot and she was about to cross the street in front of me and I slowed down to let her go.  Do you know what she did?  She smiled at me and motioned for me to go ahead.  Can you stand it? Here I am sitting lazily in my car, with Sweetness strapped in her infant car seat and there she is walking with her 3 tots and a package on her head (which by the way never fell off) giving me the right of way.  The look on her face was one of grace, serenity and happiness. I smiled back at her, thanked her and then felt like a fraud.

I thanked the universe for putting her in my path today to help me remember that even though the path of motherhood is difficult, trying and exhausting it can be handled with grace and a smile.  I’ll never forget her.

    1 Comment (+add yours?)

    1. stephanie
      Apr 30, 2010 @ 10:17:22

      This is an awesome reminder. Thanks for this post!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

